Four Books about Mrs Caldicot (of Cabbage War fame)

Dr Vernon Coleman

Those who enjoyed `Mrs Caldicot’s Cabbage War’ (either as a book or a film starring Pauline Collins as Mrs Caldicot and including John Alderton and Peter Capaldi) might like to know that Mrs Caldicot now `stars’ in four novels.

The four books about her adventures can be read individually but they were written in the following order:

Mrs Caldicot’s Cabbage War
Mrs Caldicot’s Knickerbocker Glory
Mrs Caldicot’s Oyster Parade
Mrs Caldicot’s Turkish Delight

You can purchase the books via the `Novels’ section of the Bookshop on

There is also a play called `Mrs Caldicot’s Cabbage War’. This is not the film script but a special play script specially written for theatrical use. The play can be performed free of charge by amateur dramatic societies anywhere in the world.

Copyright Vernon Coleman November 2023